Self Reflection – Overall

I’ve grown a lot in the last trimester in relation to my work and I think the quality of my work has increased although, sadly the amount of work I completed I believe decreased.

I have both positive and negative feedback about myself this trimester more so than other trimesters which is a good thing but it’s also the complete opposite.

When creating my self brand I think the design I came up with was very different to what I’ve done in the past, it was also very simple and neat which is why I ended up liking it so much. It also gave my work a kind of anchor and a theme which is something I’m new to and I would love to explore more of that type of look that I ended up with in the end.

In the future I think I would like to explore more in 2D looking designs and lean away from the hand drawn look I have had in the past with some of my work as I’ve found that I liked creating it with my self identity.

My last self reflection from last tri I said that I wanted to work more on Illustrator and this trimester it was the main program I used and I enjoyed using it a lot. Although I still want to learn more about it and different ways to use the program altogether as I feel like I’ve created a kind of box around myself and programs when there is so much more to experiment with so I think I am going to make that my next creative goal for the future.

In regards to Thread, I had the potential to do so much better than I did and I can’t put the blame on anything else but myself. Throughout this experience I have learnt that I should rely more on timelines instead of just loosely following them when I feel like it’s a good time to do it. When I stopped following my timeline and when I was supposed to be completing something, that was when the project started going downhill and by a certain point it just got too difficult to fix the problems I had made earlier on.

What I did manage to complete, I think was really nice quality and it was fun making things I had never made before and trying out new ways to do something. I feel like this was the first trimester where I had made logos and actually liked them for what they were and that was something I was struggling with in the past. Especially in relation to fonts and I think I improved greatly with those and choosing the right ones for the right job and it was nice feeling how my creative thoughts have changed since I started studying.

 


Leave a comment